Skip to content

fall is in the air

September 17, 2011

Pretty, pretty autumn light. Our favorite, around here.

Oh, RIP. I am doing a very bad job of reading this year. I’m in the middle of a Charles de Lint book, which I love, but it’s not really gripping me so I’m considering abandoning it for now and going to the library and getting a big stack of RIP books. I think I will do that. I’m barely reading the de Lint and I have some scary reading to catch up on! (I feel the need to clarify: I love de Lint, and I am actually really loving this book, but for some reason I find myself finding reasons to not pick it up. I will go back to it later. But no worries! He’s one of my faves.)

My birthday was great. We puttered around the house for awhile and then Terri had an appointment, and then we decided to go to the mall. We NEVER go to the mall but Terri wanted to get me a birthday gift.

We got some super-cute riding boots (left), a skirt, a top, and some awesome costume jewelry. It’s been forever since we got to go shopping together so although she definitely paid for it in terms of exhaustion, it was really fun and a perfect birthday present. (the boots are pretty awesome too)

Then we got three different slices of cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory, and ordered Chinese delivery. And settled in to watch Project Runway and catch up on other trashy TV. Pretty perfect.

Yesterday I was messing around in the art room and decided to pull up a corner of the carpet… only to discover hardwood floors! I have no idea what condition they are in, but I did some more investigation and we have hardwood in two of the bedrooms and the dining room. So awesome. So eventually I will pull up the carpet in those rooms. Sooner or later we’ll get the rest of the house done too, but three rooms is better than none, especially the dining room. The carpet in there has been depressing me. I need to move some furniture and pull it back more to see if it’s in decent condition. So that was exciting. Will probably do that in the next couple of weeks or so (I hope).

The weather is perfect today. Sunny, warm, about 85, with that gorgeous golden light.

Speaking of golden(s), Chelsea has been with us for almost two months now. Seems like we’ve had her forever, at this point. She is really starting to settle in and is doing great. She was always affectionate but now she is starting to really show it — leaning on our legs to get pets, acting overjoyed when we come home, and actively looking for snuggling on the floor (or sometimes on the bed, which technically we try to discourage but when she wants to curl up and snuggle, it’s pretty hard to resist). Because she has some health issues (almost died from liver failure) she is not as energetic as most dogs, so she is a perfect fit for us. She’s put on a few pounds and now looks like a very loved dog (instead of a kind of skinny, sad dog). What a good girl.

It’s not officially fall yet but I think it’s time for some curried butternut squash soup, maybe some apple coffee cake. Although considering the amount of cheesecake I’ve eaten in the past two days, maybe just the soup.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 4:00 pm

    Which Charles de Lint book were you reading? I really enjoy his books for the most part… I have to be in the right mood, though, and right now I am into more atmospheric reads.

    • September 17, 2011 11:22 pm

      I’m reading Somewhere To Be Flying (someplace? somewhere? I can’t remember). It’s good, but not super-compelling. the library was closed by the time I got there, so I will get some good RIP reads tomorrow. Time to catch up! This not-reading thing sucks.

  2. September 17, 2011 11:16 pm

    I don’t think I’ll ever understand why people cover hardwood floors with carpet!! I hate carpet, lol…the yard looks so fantastic!! And happy belated birthday 😀 I love those boots so much and it sounds like it was a perfect day! Sorry you aren’t having the best of luck with the DeLint…he’s one of my favs! Hope something peaks your interest soon though!

    • September 17, 2011 11:23 pm

      Oh, I love de Lint, and I love this book, but for some reason it’s just not sucking me in. I’ll go back to it. De Lint is meandering and I guess I am wanting something more plot-driven. More RIP-like, I think is the actual reason! Off to the library tomorrow to remedy this.

  3. September 18, 2011 8:46 am

    i agree with Chris. WHY DO PEOPLE DO THAT???? Hardwood floors are so pretty and carpet is so icky.

    the mall is best when you dont go often. then when you do go its this exciting fun place filled with energy. instead of just a crouded drag and a money suck. and those boots are awesome. and cheescake factory is just the best. yum.

    Im reading Empire Falls now and i feel about it exactly how you do about your de lint. its good and im enjoying it, but im not compelled to pick it up so its taking me forever to get through it.

    • September 18, 2011 9:23 am

      I know, right? I am going to try and carefully roll back the carpets to make sure the wood floor is okay, but frankly I’m fine just putting down an area rug if there are places that need covering for whatever reason. So much better than carpet.

      Yeah, I’m going to the library today for sure. I may have to take our Finn in to the vet to see about anti-anxiety meds, so the library will be a nice reward. Poor Finn.

  4. September 18, 2011 12:29 pm

    I completely understand what you are saying about the de Lint book. I have done that many times with authors I enjoy. Sometimes it just isn’t the right time to read book X because you are more in the mood for book Y. I think it is rare that a book will grab you regardless of mood. I think most books and our experiences with them have as much to do with when we read them as anything else.

    Happy belated birthday. The boots look great. Of course you should have modeled all the new stuff for us! 🙂 The cheesecake sounds delish, and I love that you two got more than one kind so you didn’t have to agonize as much over choices. LOL!

    Cool about the hardwood floors. We’ve had that happen in a couple of homes. Hope they end up being in better shape than you expect once you get down to pulling up the carpet.

    You have definitely got to get to the library, there are some GREAT R.I.P. reads out there.

    • September 18, 2011 5:30 pm

      I went to the library but couldn’t find many of the ones I wanted…. but I did get a good selection so hopefully I’ll be able to sneak in 3-4 books before Halloween! I always get so busy this time of year, it seems…

      • September 18, 2011 6:40 pm

        I’m sorry to hear that, but I hope you enjoy what you found. I know what you mean, and the time just seems to pick up speed this time of year, which is disappointing since it is my favorite time of year.

  5. September 20, 2011 6:52 pm

    Hardwood floors — it just keeps getting better, huh?!!

  6. September 21, 2011 6:13 am

    So glad you had such a nice day! Those are awesome boots! And yay for hardwood floors hiding under your carpet. I sense a floor project in your future 😉

Leave a comment