Skip to content

Surfacing (briefly)

October 14, 2011

Whew. Work has been so busy for the past couple of weeks. Working-late-and-weekends kind of busy, which is (thankfully) rare for my job. It went from being pretty miserable to – yesterday – a happy triumph as finally all the pieces came together and it went from being really, really hard to really, really fun. I need to remember this for next time. Which will probably be… oh, next week.

However! A few brief reading notes and such.

I’m a few chapters into The Lantern. I’m supposed to be participating in the group read for this, but haven’t been able to do my posting (which I will try to make up for, tomorrow). So far, so good. It’s about what I expected — fairly good, lots of description, not terribly gripping. We’ll see how it goes. I am really hoping to tear through it this weekend as I have a pile of more very tempting RIP books waiting for me that I’d like to read before Halloween.

My number finally came up in the library queue for Mockingjay (audiobook) and I’m currently making up excuses to drive, to listen to it. I will be done with it by Sunday, I’m pretty sure (all those weekend errands, you know). Happily, this is better than I expected, and I’m really into it. I wasn’t so impressed by the second book, but the third is pretty great so far. I’m about halfway through.

Some recent adorableness from the new pets. Terri sends me photo updates most days, which is really fun and helps me stay sane when things are crazy busy.

Finn says, “That dang dog is on the bed again!”

Guilty as charged.

Thomas finds his own bed. He’s our “special” child.

And let’s not forget our fine feathered friends outside.

Oh! In other very important news, the bedroom paint has been selected, purchased, and the first coat is on the walls! We will be finishing it this weekend. We finally (FINALLY) went with Pratt & Lambert’s Good Earth, which looks great with our eastern light and need to have a warm, cozy-feeling room with a nice saturated color (can you tell we’ve been researching how to choose a color?). I will post pictures when it’s done. I am sure it will throw the sorry state of our bedroom furniture into harsh light, but oh well. Painting was the first step. Then we can catch up with everything else.

The winter garden has been planted. However, last night Terri says to me, “Are there supposed to be big holes dug into the garden?” Um. No. So I’m guessing the squirrels have been busy planting peanuts (and searching for other goodies in the garden). Hoping they left some seeds undisturbed. We’ll see what comes up.

And, that’s about it for now. More book posting over the weekend. And sleeping. The dog got me up at 4 am this morning. I was not pleased. Good thing she’s cute.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 5:38 pm

    Wow! That bird is gorgeous!!! Love it!! Sounds like you’ve been a busy bee lately! Glad y’all found a paint color finally 🙂 And gah…I can relate with the squirrels..I have pecan trees constantly coming up in my gardens :/

    • October 14, 2011 7:58 pm

      That’s too funny! If the peanuts were not already dry-roasted in the shell, I’m pretty sure we would have a peanut farm!

  2. October 15, 2011 10:44 am

    Amazing picture of that bird! Do you know what sort it is? (Sorry if it’s something easy…I’m no good at this sort of thing.)

    Also I love the paint sample color. Sort of a dusty rosy color, without the saccharine? I bet that will look beautiful and glowing in an evening long light.

    • October 15, 2011 1:09 pm

      It’s a hummingbird, probably an Anna’s. We get them frequently in our backyard and they are a favorite subject of Terri’s. I should do a whole post on her bird photography, it’s impressive.

  3. October 15, 2011 10:01 pm

    Wow, amazing hummingbird photo!

    And don’t mention bedroom painting…that’s what I was supposed to do this weekend…

    • October 17, 2011 10:37 am

      It’s such a pain! I think I will get 3/4 done. Finish up next weekend.

  4. October 16, 2011 5:37 am

    Aw, I love the photos. I hope you’re having a good weekend, Daphne!

  5. October 16, 2011 6:48 am

    Your animals look quite cozy in your house and in the outdoors. Sorry the dog got you up. Maybe Finn was trying to warn you.

  6. October 17, 2011 9:40 am

    Wonderful photos from Terri! I love the color you chose for the bedroom too. We are getting ready to put our garden to bed for the winter. Now if the wind would stop gusting all day we could actually manage it.

  7. October 17, 2011 10:39 am

    The wind is kicking up here too, I think the weather is going to shift in a week or two.

  8. October 23, 2011 2:29 am

    ha! your special child.

    these photos are great. love the one of finn.

    • October 23, 2011 3:46 pm

      Thomas is the special kid. Finn is our precious sensitive little artiste who really dislikes his peace being disturbed by The Dog.

Leave a Reply

