Skip to content

Audiobook Failure: Help, please!

October 19, 2011

Book-lovers: Help!

I have gone through six or seven audiobooks in the past three weeks, and haven’t been able to get into any of them. Either the recording quality is horrible, or the reader is really bad, or the book just doesn’t hold my interest.

Any favorites? Must-listens? I’m currently considering listening to the entire Harry Potter series, mostly because I’ve heard good things about the audio version, and I’ve never re-read the entire series (although I’ve re-read the first and second book a few times for whatever reason; they must have been laying around or something). Also because that would keep me occupied on the road for awhile; seven large novels in a row. Woohoo!

But then what? I’m definitely not opposed to a re-read if I’ve read it before. YA or even children’s novels would be okay.

My library has a certain number out on display but I’m kind of going through them, and am at the point where I need to request them but don’t know what to request.

Also, my local library is heavy on the thrillers. That would be okay too, but I don’t know who’s good. I should ask Terri this, she likes thrillers.

Also: other avenues for audio? I like books — I’ve done the podcast thing and that’s fun sometimes, but I really like books.

Open to suggestions. Please!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 5:23 pm

    I like David Eddings books on audio. There are a lot of them, and they do have to be listened to in order. The prologe for each book is a bit boring but are needed to get the whole grasp on the stories.

  2. October 19, 2011 5:59 pm

    The YA book When You Reach Me was a really good book with a good reader. Anything written by Gaiman is excellent on audio, whether he is the reader or not. I listened to an audio version of Steinbeck’s Travels with Charley recently and the reader was fantastic.

    Hmmm…what else….if you are in the mood for something more recent, the book Robopocalypse got really good reviews even from non-sci-fi fans and the audio book is terrific, and very suspenseful.

    Any Agatha Christie book read by Hugh Fraser or David Suchet is excellent. There are also three read by Emilia Fox that star plucky heroines and have a degree of Wodehouse style humor that are wonderful, she is a wonderful reader.

    Three of Richard Peck’s YA books that I’ve listened to that are really fun and have good narrators are: A Year Down Yonder, A Long Way from Chicago, and The Teacher’s Funeral: A Comedy in Three Parts. Fair Weather is actually good as well.

  3. October 19, 2011 6:01 pm

    Hello! I’ve been reading your lovely blog for quite a while now, but this is (shamefully) my first time commenting. I like to listen to the classics on audiobook and I was particularly mesmerized by Jeremy Irons reading Lolita, you should check it out.

  4. October 20, 2011 6:29 am

    The Harry Potter audiobooks are awesome. Also, the Lord of the Rings on audio is excellent. James has had great success with Stephen King on audio.

  5. October 20, 2011 9:10 am

    Wow, thanks for the suggestions, everyone! I am definitely going to look some of these up. I’ve requested the Harry Potter books 1 & 2 just to get me through until I can find something else, and then maybe I’ll listen to them alternatiing with other books. It’s been probably 5 years since my last re-read of LOTR — maybe that would be a good winter series!

  6. trapunto permalink
    October 20, 2011 10:24 am

    Hard to follow Mockingjay! I was recently surprised by Jill Tanner’s reading of Fly By Night by Frances Hardinge. The cover makes it look like a kiddy-book, but it turned out to be a really good 18th-century-themed British fantasy. More darkly bizarre than madcap, with dramatic weight and wonderful historical detail. VERY funny. I loved it!

    • October 20, 2011 2:28 pm

      That sounds excellent! I will keep my eye out for that one.

Leave a Reply

