Skip to content

further thoughts about clothes (really boring unless you like clothes)

October 21, 2011
tags:

I would include photos but I’m lazy. Maybe next time.

So you know how earlier in the year I was all “all neutrals, all the time”? I have to say: I am getting SO BORED with this.

So. Bored. This plan isn’t working.

I guess I expect myself to hold onto a certain fashion (I say “fashion” with tongue planted firmly in cheek) aesthetic for a few years at least, because who has the money to change everything every year or so, right? But this can’t go on.

Also, I am getting really tired of wearing office clothes. So. Some thoughts. Stick with me here. (you don’t really have to, you can stop reading right now if you want, I don’t mind)

My office dress code falls somewhere in the middle of corporate-y. You could wear a pair of black pants, a decent shirt and a cardigan year-round and be just fine (in fact, I usually do). Jeans on Friday (and sometimes dark jeans are fine the rest of the week), nobody wears suits except the CEO (sometimes). I sometimes think I could wear the same outfit four days in a row and no one would notice.

Which brings me to my next point: shoes. I had to get rid of all of my shoes a year or two ago. I’ve been slow in rebuilding my shoe selection because I don’t have very much room for shoes, frankly. But I have decided that I need more than one pair of flats, and I need a pair of shoes that I can wear socks with in winter. I have fabulous boots, but nothing that really goes with regular pants.

Which brings me to my other point: pants. About four years ago (maybe more!) I bought about seven pairs of work pants from The Gap. They are the perfect work pant. They fit perfectly, I got them in two lengths (for flats and heels), in a few different colors, and figured I would be set for the next 10 years. And they are still great. The only problem is that I’m totally bored with corporate work pants. All I want to do is wear jeans. Or skirts and tights.

So, to my final point: I think I need to figure out how to wear jeans or tights and skirts/dresses this winter and leave the work pants in the closet for a season. I’m thinking dark jeans. I have a pair of black jeans-styled pants made out of something twill-like, and I like those too. So, jeans and whatever you call casual jeans-like pants which are not jeans. And a couple more skirts and/or a dress.

The *other* other point is that I want to simultaneously have more fun with my clothes AND feel like I’m wearing pajamas most of the time.

So everything must be soft.

That’s my plan. Non-worky clothes which are soft like PJs and which are slightly more fun/colorful than what I have now, but which require almost no effort on my part (like jeans).

I wonder how one builds a wardrobe like this with zero budget? 🙂

(hello, thrift shops and H&M!) (also, my mother is supposed to come visit in a couple of weeks and I *know* she will help me with this dilemma, right, mom?)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    October 21, 2011 8:53 am

    I hear your plea. Mom to the rescue!!!

    • October 21, 2011 10:56 am

      Oh thank goodness. I need your super-shoe powers!

      • Mom permalink
        October 21, 2011 10:58 am

        They’re a little rusty, but will give a shot :).

  2. October 21, 2011 9:24 am

    Stores with cashback are good for tight budgets, the main one I talk about a fair bit is chicstar.com where you can get upto $30 per item (even if the item cost less) by submitting a customer photo of it; it’s a weekly contest as well so if you win you get an additional $100. I’m not sure if they carry anything you’d like but it’s worth a look, even just for inspiration to search for similar promotions.

  3. D'Arcy permalink
    October 21, 2011 6:20 pm

    Sweater dress. It will be comfy and you can wear fab boots with it. I plan to buy one if I can ever go shopping.

    • October 21, 2011 7:21 pm

      I always feel really self-conscious in sweater dresses. But, you never know. I will try one on if we find it. That definitely fits the criteria!

      • October 23, 2011 2:52 pm

        I’m totally with D’Arcy on this one. Warm, comfy, add boots and suddenly you look super chic. Plus crazy fashion people are layering sweaters with sweaters so you can throw a shrug or a cardi over it too when it’s chilly out.

        I’ve been living in dresses of various styles these days, because they’re easy as pie. One piece to put on with shoes and tights, and if I’m feeling spiffy or have the time to care, I can layer things too.

        I do feel ya on the switching things out in the fashion department, though. For some reason I’ve decided that I should wear more feminine things, but Operation Dress More Feminine has resulted in the purchase (from eBay) of a houndstooth cape, a grey wool cardigan, a faux-fur lined denim jacket, and a cream lace blouse, none of which particularly scream feminine except the blouse. And actually, the cape rather screams “Sherlock Holmes”.

        Also: eBay.

      • October 23, 2011 3:42 pm

        Ooh! A cape! How English and Octobery! Love it. OK, I will look into the sweater dress. I’m liking the idea of dresses in general, actually, because I have approximately 1,000,000 cardigans and how easy is a cardigan, dress, tights and boots? I think I’ve found my solution.

  4. October 22, 2011 12:27 am

    This is one reason why I love my job, scrubs are like wearing jammies all the time, and I get to wear my cool z-coils. The shoes fit, no pinching, no strange walking. I love scrubs.

  5. October 23, 2011 2:23 am

    uh oh. sorry the neutrals arent working for you. ive been doing a similar wardrobe thing for about 2 1/2 years now and only finally do i feel like ive settled into a groove of really liking my clothes. mainly because ive had some AWESOME goodwill luck lately.(An adorable marc jacbs blouse for $5.99? yes please. )

    i love tights and skirts and wear that look a few times a week. lately im loving lace up oxfords with my tights/skirts combo. i fell dressed up but yet i dont have to wear heels or search for flats that arent matronly.

    • October 23, 2011 3:43 pm

      At least neutrals will go with whatever else I end up getting. It was just too boring, and that’s saying something. I definitely need to hit the local goodwills again.

  6. October 23, 2011 2:53 pm

    By the way, I love it when you talk fashion. It gives me an outlet!

    Also I’ve been rocking quite a few kilt-cut wool skirts but that’s mostly because I’m so short that the length works on me. Could be quite different for you!

    • October 23, 2011 3:43 pm

      Hmm. I don’t think I can do kilt-cut, but I did get two corduroy pencil skirts which I think I’m going to wear the heck out of this winter!

  7. October 23, 2011 6:04 pm

    I was going to say Sweater Dress too! I went shopping yesterday [Macy’s, Marshall’s and Ross] and was tempted by many really cute (and cheap) sweater dresses and capes! Oh the capes! So adorable, one at Marshall’s really got to me, but it was a little too spendy (tho’ Ralph Lauren and only $80) to buy on a whim…

    • October 23, 2011 7:22 pm

      Capes!! Are they “in” this year? I love capes. I am going to have to investigate this sweater dress thing. I usually shy away from them but maybe this time around they are wearable for Joan Holloway type, yes? No? I will check it out.

  8. October 25, 2011 4:21 am

    I’m all about thrifting as a way to revamp on a budget! I’ve been changing my style quite a bit since I moved down here last year, and now I’ve finally gotten it to a place that makes me happy (for now at least, hehe). I tend to do more neutral bottoms & good shoes and save my fun colours for tops, sweaters, & summer sundresses. I also have quite a bit of neutral patterns (mainly stripes and plaids w a few polka dots), which keep things from getting boring! I’m also all about texture: silk (my fave! and definitely pajama-feeling!), wool, velvet, etc.

    Also, I think you’re on the right track going for the skirt/dresses + tights silhouette to change things up: it’s my personal favourite (it’s impossible for me to find pants big enough for my booty and small enough for my waist anyway). But some tights have v uncomfortable waistbands, so be careful there! I think my comfiest are a pair by Hue: I’d recommend waiting until post-holiday sales to stock up. Although I saw some lighter-weight tights for clearance at Target the other day!

    I’ve rambled for far too long, but definitely do a follow-up post with photos one of these days. 😀

    • October 25, 2011 4:58 pm

      Yes, I love thrifting! I’m sure my mom and I will do plenty of that when she’s here, and I will do a few rounds in the next few weeks in any case. I’m aiming for dresses, I think. Nice and easy and pretty topped with a sweater. My FAVORITE tights are by E.G. Smith, you can get them on sockdreams.com, but they are spendy. However, they last for half a lifetime, and you can mend them. They are my favorites. I’ll look for Hue as well.

  9. October 25, 2011 4:37 am

    I love this post — I’m always interested in what other worker-bees wear to the office. I’ve gone from corporate banking suits to basically business casual everyday — over a 20+ year span. I’m into just wearing pants and the occasional black skirt/sweater combination. Tights are the best. Love them. Please share pictures when your ensemble is completed.

    • October 25, 2011 4:58 pm

      Photos coming up! When I have something to show, that is…

Leave a Reply

