Skip to content

new floor! and, let’s talk about paint.

September 24, 2011

 

Today I ripped up the carpet in the art room. Voila! Lovely wood floor. The only thing is that there is this ugly decades-old white tape around the edge of the room for some reason. Why, people?? Anyway, I need to experiment with some solvent to remove it. Otherwise, however, lovely. I think the whole projects, start to finish (room put back together) took around 3-4 hours. Not too bad. I might do the office tomorrow. 

Then there’s the not-so-lovely. The master bedroom. It’s so pitiful. Here is our desperate attempt to decide on a paint color. ANY paint color. And as you can see, it really could be ANY color. Hoo-boy. Also, that thing the TV is on was left by previous owners; we’re just using it temporarily until we paint, then we’ll get something a little prettier. Yes, the TV is on a stack of books and academic papers. Sigh.

The room is this kind of sad soft green, and cream. But the cream is a dirty cream (or off-white?) and the green is just a little depressing. So this needs to change. But as you can see, we are having a hard time making up our minds. 

Currently we are considering a smokey purple for the green wall, and silver-gray for the rest. I don’t know. This seems impossible. Thoughts? Recommendations? HELP.

Let’s look at something prettier now. Ahhh.

 

 

 

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 11:52 pm

    That floor is lovely! I wish I could pull up the carpet in my bedroom, but a) my parents would kill me and b) I bet there’s no pretty wood underneath.

    That is A LOT of paint samples! I love the purple you have on the green wall! As for your bedroom, it depends on your bedding, etc., so I feel I can’t help you much there. But I would recommend being careful about how much sunlight your room gets; I originally painted my reading room in dark colours when we moved in, thinking it’d feel Victorian-ish, but instead it just exaggerated how little sunlight the room got & was depressing. Whereas the colour I painted my bedroom makes it feel brighter and happy! 🙂

    • September 26, 2011 9:21 am

      We’re now leaning towards purple or a gray with purple undertones. Thanks for the dark-paint warning!

  2. September 25, 2011 8:05 am

    Of all the colors on the wall, I think I like that smokey purple in the middle of the second photo the best! But I might go with a darker cream (a creamier cream?) instead of gray because of what Eva said. And the smokey purple is already pretty close to gray.

    • September 26, 2011 9:22 am

      I agree. A creamy cream would probably be best.

  3. September 25, 2011 10:25 am

    I actually kind of like the wall with the swatches, although yeah… that’s not really a permanent viable solution.

    And agreeing with Lu and Eva, your room seems to get really nice but soft light, so dark colors might drown the room too much. But then again, you can always paint over it. 😉

  4. September 25, 2011 4:42 pm

    your floors are amazing. LOVE!

    eventually you’re going to have so many paint swatches on the wall that the bedroom *will*, technically, be painted.

  5. September 26, 2011 9:13 am

    Nice floor! All your paint swatches made me laugh. And that cat post, I have the same exact one for my cats. It sits in front of a bedroom window and is high enough and the window low enough that Waldo and Dickens can lay side by side on top of it and look outside.

    • September 26, 2011 9:23 am

      The cat post is for Finn — it’s his launch post up to his window seat. Spoiled kitty. He also likes to sleep on it. He has like four beds in this room. 🙂

  6. September 26, 2011 12:12 pm

    Nice floors.
    I would say purple but there is a blue in the lower right – the not quite royal, not too dark, not too light that I would say is my fave. Good luck.

    • September 26, 2011 8:14 pm

      This is exactly what we do all night. “Which one do you like?” “I like that one, over on the right hand side, under the gray, no, the other gray. That second blue one.”

Leave a comment